UN Women East And Southern Africa Regional Office At A Glance

Un Women East And Southern Africa Regional Office At A Glance

UN Women is the UN agency mandated to promote gender equality and empowerment of women. In the East and Southern Africa Region, the organization has a presence in 13 Countries (Burundi, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Multi/Country Offices South Africa, Rwanda, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zimbabwe). In countries where there is no presence, UN Women collaborates with the resident coordinator's office to advance gender equality. Despite the diverse and geopolitical context of the region and the current context of COVID-19, the offices strive to advance gender equality and women empowerment through the following programmes: 

  • Leadership And Governance 
  • Women’s Economic Empowerment 
  • Ending Violence Against Women And Girls 
  • Women Peace, Security And Humanitarian Action 
  • Coordination, Intergovernmental And Strategic Planning 
  • Gender Data and Statistics

This document serves to give an overview of our programmes and their results in the region

View online/download

Bibliographic information

Geographic coverage: Africa
Resource type(s): Briefs
UN Women office publishing: East and Southern Africa Regional Office
Publication year
Number of pages